Jack Ferguson Award


The "Fergie" is presented annually to the player selected first overall in the Ontario Hockey League Priority Selection. The award recognizes the dedication and contributions made by Jack Ferguson during his 25 year association with the Ontario Hockey League, first as a scout with the Ottawa 67's and followed by his appointment as head of the OHL's Central Scouting Bureau in 1981 as its Director of Central Scouting.


On Friday April 10, the Ontario Hockey League in association with the Sudbury Wolves Hockey Club today announced that 15-year-old forward David Levin of the Greater Toronto Hockey League’s Don Mills Flyers will be the first overall pick in the 2015 OHL Priority Selection presented by State Farm.

The announcement was made at a news conference held this morning in Sudbury where Levin was introduced to local media.

“The Sudbury Wolves organization is extremely proud to select David Levin” notes Wolves' President and General Manager Blaine Smith. “David is an outstanding hockey player and is the dynamic forward that the Sudbury Wolves need to build a winning team around. David's skills and offensive talent will be appreciated by his coaches, his teammates and hockey fans here in Sudbury.”

Levin led the Flyers in scoring with 80 points in 55 games including 39 goals. The left-shot forward can play all forward positions but excels the most on the right side. Levin now stands 5'11” and weighs 170 lbs. Born September 16, 1999, he will be eligible for the 2018 NHL Draft.

“I am extremely proud and excited to be drafted by the Sudbury Wolves” notes David Levin. “The Burgess  family,  team management and everyone involved with the organization have been so welcoming and supportive and I am truly grateful to become a member of the Sudbury Wolves. I know that the team is building for the future and I look forward to doing my very best to help the organization achieve their goal of winning a championship.”

Levin was born and raised in Israel and moved to Canada at 12 years of age to live with relatives in the Toronto area.   Levin has only played organized hockey in Canada for three years.  His stick-handling skills were developed by playing in-line hockey in Israel at an early age.   Levin has transferred his offensive skills to ice hockey with resounding success.

“David is one of the most purely gifted offensive talents in this year’s draft,” notes OHL Central Scouting Director Darrell Woodley. “He has the ability to make an opposing player look very silly and he does it with such ease. Things come very easy for him which is impressive considering he has only been playing hockey for three seasons. He is very hard to knock-off the puck as he has a strong core and low center of gravity. David is a very compact skater and has very good agility and quickness, changes gears in mid-stride, and is not afraid to challenge anyone at anytime. He has a very good shot with a quick release, is a smart player, and never seems to put himself in a bad position. Overall David has the potential to be a great player at the OHL level and the sky's the limit for him as he continues to learn and develop.”

Past Winners of the Jack Ferguson Award:

Year Player Team

1981 Dan Quinn, Belleville
1982 Kirk Muller, Guelph
1983 Trevor Stienburg, Guelph
1984 Dave Moylan, Sudbury
1985 Bryan Fogarty, Kingston
1986 Troy Mallette, S.S. Marie
1987 John Uniac, Sudbury
1988 Drake Berehowsky, Kingston
1989 Eric Lindros, S.S. Marie
1990 Pat Peake, Detroit
1991 Todd Harvey, Detroit
1992 Jeff O'Neill, Guelph
1993 Alyn McCauley, Ottawa
1994 Jeff Brown, Sarnia
1995 Daniel Tkaczuk, Barrie
1996 Rico Fata, London
1997 Charlie Stephens, Toronto
1998 Jay Harrison, Brampton
1999 Jason Spezza, Mississauga
2000 Patrick Jarrett, Mississauga
2001 Patrick O'Sullivan, Mississauga
2002 Robbie Schremp, Mississauga
2003 Patrick McNeill, Saginaw
2004 John Hughes, Belleville
2005 John Tavares, Oshawa
2006 Steven Stamkos, Sarnia
2007 Ryan O'Reilly, Erie
2008 John McFarland, Sudbury
2009 Daniel Catenacci, Sault Ste. Marie
2010 Alex Galchenyuk, Sarnia
2011 Aaron Ekblad, Barrie
2012 Connor McDavid, Erie
2013 Travis Konecny, Ottawa
2014 Jakob Chychrun, Sarnia
2015 David Levin, Sudbury

Schedule & Results Previous Games
  Sunday May 29
ROU 2 3 LDN Final OT1
Fan Zone

Get the Insider

Be the first to know what's happening in the OHL.